HYSTEPS

Pumpe und Rohre
Foto © voestalpine & AIT/ Kiedl & Drexler-Schmid

In the project HyStEPs – Hybrid storage for efficient processes an innovative hybrid storage concept will be developed to increase the storage capacity of existing steam storage units by up to 40% while reducing the investment costs of existing steam storage units. The project team is developing an innovative hybrid storage concept and testing it experimentally to increase the storage capacity of operating Ruths steam storage units in the medium term.

The following questions have to be answered: the thermal connection of the latent heat storage elements to the steam storage, the increase of the thermal conductivity of the phase change material through heat conducting structures, corrosion behaviour of the material combinations but also strength calculations.

Goals

  • operational test of the laboratory prototype of an innovative hybrid storage unit
  • increase in storage capacity by 40%.
  • Enable economic energy efficiency measures

“The motivation for the research project HyStEPs is to develop a new innovative storage concept that will increase the storage capacity of steam storage units already integrated in processes, in order to promote the decarbonisation of industrial processes. With the technology developed in HyStEPs we expect a CO2– saving potential through efficiency increase of 11 million tons per year in the EU.“

 

Project manager HyStEPs, Austrian Institute of Technology GmbH

Project management

AIT Austrian Institute of Technology GmbH

Contact

Gerwin Drexler-Schmid
Gerwin.Drexler-Schmid@ait.ac.at
AIT Austrian Institute of Technology

Key facts

Running time: 09/18 – 04/21

Project volume: € 800.000

 

– Applications in energy-intensive industries: paper, chemicals, food, iron & steel

C02 savings potential of 11 million tonnes per year in the EU

-Market potential of € 550 million in the EU

 

Project partners

AIT Austrian Institute of Technology GmbH
Edtmayer Systemtechnik GmbH
Technische Universität Wien
voestalpine Stahl Donawitz GmbH

Kontakt

Not readable? Change text. captcha txt
Icons mit Labor im Hintergrund

HYSTEPS

Pumpe und Rohre
Foto © voestalpine & AIT/ Kiedl & Drexler-Schmid

Im Projekt HyStEPs – Hybrid storage for efficient processes wird ein innovatives Hybridspeicherkonzept entwickelt, um die Speicherkapazität von bestehenden Dampfspeichern um bis zu 40 % zu erhöhen bei gleichzeitiger Senkung der Investitionskosten von bestehenden Dampfspeichern. Das Projektteam entwickelt hier ein innovatives Hybridspeicherkonzept, testet dieses experimentell, um damit mittelfristig die Speicherkapazität von in Betrieb befindlichen Ruths-Dampfspeichern zu erhöhen.

Folgende Fragstellungen müssen beantwortet werden: die thermische Anbindung der Latentwärmespeicherelemente an den Dampfspeicher, die Erhöhung der Wärmeleitfähigkeit des Phasenwechselmaterials durch Wärmeleitstrukturen, Korrosionsverhalten der Materialkombinationen aber auch Festigkeitsberechnungen.

Ziele

  • Betriebstest des Laborprototyps eines innovativen Hybridspeicher
  • Erhöhung der Speicherkapazität  um 40%
  • Ökonomische Energieeffizienzmaßnahmen ermöglichen

„Die Motivation für das Forschungsprojekt HyStEPs ist, ein neues innovatives Speicherkonzept zu entwickeln, wodurch die Speicherkapazität von bereits in Prozessen integrierten Dampfspeichern erhöht werden kann, um damit die Dekarbonisierung von industriellen Prozessen voranzutreiben. Durch die in HyStEPs entwickelte Technologie erwarten wir ein COEinsparungspotential durch Effizienzsteigerung von 11 Millionen Tonnen pro Jahr in der EU.“

 

Projektleiter HyStEPs,
AIT Austrian Institute of Technology GmbH

Projektleitung

AIT Austrian Institute of Technology GmbH

Ansprechperson

Gerwin Drexler-Schmid

Projektleiter HyStEPs

Gerwin.Drexler-Schmid@ait.ac.at

AIT Austrian Institute of Technology GmbH

Eckdaten

Laufzeit: 09/18 – 04/21
Projektvolumen: € 800.000

  • Anwendung in energieintensiver Industrie: Papier, Chemie, Nahrungsmittel, Eisen & Stahl
  • CO2­ Einsparungspotential von 11 Millionen Tonnen pro Jahr in der EU
  • Marktpotential von € 550 Millionen in der EU

 

Projektpartner

AIT Austrian Institute of Technology GmbH
Edtmayer Systemtechnik GmbH
Technische Universität Wien
voestalpine Stahl Donawitz GmbH

Kontakt

Not readable? Change text. captcha txt
Icons mit Labor im Hintergrund