Monitoring & Innovation Management

The NEFI_Lab enables all interested parties to participate in the energy transition in industry. It creates the framework conditions for identifying future challenges (known as “white spots”) in the transformation of the industrial energy system and supports industry in using these as opportunities. From intensively conducted dialogues with representatives of Austrian industry, the path to industrial decarbonisation is described using various scenarios.

The NEFI Innovation process

The “White Spots” are coloured in terms of content and defined in greater depth as part of the innovation process in the NEFI_Lab. This results in the development of ambitious projects that demonstrate the innovative technologies for decarbonising the industrial landscape “Made in Austria”.

Übersicht über den Innovationsprozess

Open Cycles & Project Cycles

At NEFI we are always looking for new ways to advance the decarbonisation of industry in Austria while at the same time improving the national value chain. We are currently pursuing many different ideas and proposals in the ten “Open Cycles” defined below. These are intensively discussed and refined in expert panels in cooperation with industrial partners before continuing their successful course as a project in one of our partner companies within the framework of a “Project Cycles”.

Open Cycle<strong><br />
Bioenergy</strong>
Open Cycle
Bioenergy
Open Cycle Bioenergy
To increase the share of renewable energy sources for industrial use, biomass resources are subject of an economic analysis and a supply of non-classical biomass fuels is also being investigated. This is also intended to improve the interaction between companies as biomass sinks and sources and thus bring about a long-term optimisation and standardisation of the biomass supply.
Open Cycle<strong><br />
AustroStorage</strong>
Open Cycle
AustroStorage
Open Cycle AustroStorage
The implementation of storage systems in industrial energy systems is becoming increasingly important. This OC deals with the investigation and analysis of different storage technologies in order to establish industrial applications and new business models. The technologies range from thermal and electrical storage to pressure storage.
Open Cycle<strong><br />
Wastewater</strong>
Open Cycle
Wastewater
Open Cycle Wastewater
Wastewater treatment plants are the largest consumers of energy in the civil sector or at municipal level. At the same time, they hold great potential for increasing energy efficiency, integrating new process structures, flexibility and the integration of renewable energies. These are the thematic areas which are dealt with in this OC.
Open Cycle<strong><br />
Funding & Financial Opportunities</strong>
Open Cycle
Funding & Financial Opportunities
Open Cycle Funding & Financial Opportunities
The OC8 was formed to provide expertise and know-how in the field of project finance. In particular, this knowledge should serve to close the gap for the transition from research projects to industrial showcase and demonstration projects. This OC is therefore to be seen as a service, which shows the advantages and disadvantages of different financing instruments for research projects on the basis of an elaborated portfolio.

NEFI scenario development

In the NEFI_Lab, three scenarios are being created to describe the path to complete decarbonisation of the industrial energy system. The integration of stakeholders from all Austrian industrial sectors plays a particularly important role.
With the „NEFI Industry Dialogue Sessions“ the NEFI_Lab offers the appropriate framework. Representatives of leading Austrian companies will discuss with the experts of the AIT – Austrian Institute for Technology and of the Chair of Energy Compound Technology at the University of Leoben, which technologies could be used in the future in a targeted and economically realistic manner in the respective sectors.

The Business-as-Usual-Scenario (BAU) serves to update current trends using the technologies currently available and measures that have already been implemented. The analysis of global, European and national studies will form the basis for the assessment of the technologies used in each industrial sub-sector.
The development of the Mitigation-Scenarios (MGS) s based on the #emission2030 of the Austrian climate and energy strategy and the current EU targets. The resulting trends are considered up to 2050. “Best Available Technologies” (BAT) and “Breakthrough Technologies” (BTT) with a short to medium-term implementation horizon are used as a basis for modelling in this scenario.

In the Deep-Decarbonization-Scenarios (DCS) a backcasting method is carried out based on the year 2050. This will identify which technologies and trends need to be used to achieve the NEFI targets. Breakthrough technologies with significant reduction potentials in terms of C02 emissions and energy requirements will be considered in particular.

Are you interested in the NEFI Industry Dialogue Sessions?

In order to actively involve your company in the dialogue on the implementation of climate targets simply contact us!

Kontakt

Not readable? Change text. captcha txt

Monitoring & Innovation Management

Das NEFI_Lab ermöglicht allen Interessierten die Teilnahme an der Energiewende in der Industrie. Es schafft die Rahmenbedingungen, um zukünftige Herausforderungen (genannt „White Spots“) im Wandel des industriellen Energiesystems zu erkennen und unterstützt die Industrie dabei, diese als Chancen zu nutzen. Aus intensiv geführten Dialogen mit Vertretern der österreichischen Industrie wird der Pfad zur industriellen Dekarbonisierung anhand verschiedener Szenarien beschrieben.

Der NEFI Innovationsprozess

Die „White Spots“ werden im Rahmen des Innovationsprozesses im NEFI_Lab inhaltlich eingefärbt und tiefergehend definiert. Dabei entwickeln sich in der Folge ambitionierte Projekte, die die innovativen Technologien zur Dekarbonisierung der Industrielandschaft „Made in Austria“ demonstrieren.

Übersicht über den Innovationsprozess

Open Cycles & Project Cycles

Bei NEFI sind wir immer auf der Suche nach neuen Wegen, die Dekarbonisierung der Industrie in Österreich voranzutreiben und dabei gleichzeitig die nationale Wertschöpfungskette zu verbessern. In definierten “Open Cycles”, von denen untenstehend vier näher beschrieben werden, verfolgen wir viele verschiedene Ideen und Vorschläge dazu. In Expert*innenrunden werden diese in Kooperation mit Industriepartner*innen intensiv diskutiert und verfeinert, bevor sie ihren Erfolgslauf im Rahmen eines “Project Cycle” als Projekt bei einem unserer Partner*innenunternehmen fortsetzen.

Open Cycle<strong><br />
Bioenergy</strong>
Open Cycle
Bioenergy
Open Cycle Bioenergy
Um den Anteil erneuerbarer Energieträger für den Einsatz in der Industrie zu erhöhen, werden Biomasse Ressourcen einer wirtschaftlichen Betrachtung unterzogen und eine Versorgung auch mit nicht-klassischen Biomasse-Brennstoffen untersucht. Damit soll auch das Zusammenspiel von Unternehmen als Biomasse Senken und Quellen verbessert und somit eine langfristige Optimierung und Standardisierung der Biomasse-Versorgung herbeigeführt werden.
Open Cycle<strong><br />
AustroStorage</strong>
Open Cycle
AustroStorage
Open Cycle AustroStorage
Die Implementierung von Speichersystemen im industriellen Energiesystem wird zunehmend wichtiger. Dieser OC befasst sich mit der Untersuchung und Analyse unterschiedlicher Speichertechnologien, um industrielle Anwendungsgebiete und neue Geschäftsmodelle zu etablieren. Die Technologien reichen von thermischen und elektrischen Speichern bis hin zu Druckspeichern.
Open Cycle<br />
<strong>Wastewater</strong>
Open Cycle
Wastewater
Open Cycle Wastewater
Abwasserbehandlungsanlagen bilden im zivilen Bereich bzw. auf Gemeindeebene die größten Energieverbraucher. Gleichzeitig bergen sie große Potentiale für eine Steigerung der Energieeffizienz, Integration neuer Prozessstrukturen, Flexibilitäten und Einbindung erneuerbarer Energien. Diese thematischen Themenfelder werden in diesem OC behandelt.
Open Cycle<br />
<strong>Funding & Financial Opportunities</strong>
Open Cycle
Funding & Financial Opportunities
Open Cycle Funding & Financial Opportunities
Der OC8 wurde gebildet um Expertise und Know-How im Bereich von Projektfinanzierungen bieten zu können. Dabei soll dieses Wissen besonders zur Schließung der Lücke für den Übergang von Forschungsprojekten zu industriellen Vorzeige- und Demonstrationsprojekten dienen. Dieser OC ist somit als Dienstleistung zu sehen, welcher auf Basis eines ausgearbeiteten Portfolios, Vor- und Nachteile unterschiedlicher Finanzierungsinstrumente für Forschungsprojekte aufzeigt.

NEFI Szenarienentwicklung

Im NEFI_Lab werden drei Szenarien erstellt, die den Pfad zur vollständigen Dekarbonisierung des industriellen Energiesystems beschreiben sollen. Dabei spielt die Integration von Stakeholdern aller österreichischen Industriesektoren eine besonders wichtige Rolle.

Mit den „NEFI Industry Dialogue Sessions“ bietet das NEFI_Lab dafür den passenden Rahmen.

Dabei diskutieren Vertreter führender österreichischer Unternehmen mit den Experten des AIT Austrian Institute for Technology und des Lehrstuhls für Energieverbundtechnik der Montanuniversität Leoben, welche Technologien in Zukunft in der jeweiligen Branche zielführend und wirtschaftlich realistisch eingesetzt werden könnten.

Das Business-asUsual-Szenario (BAU) dient der Fortschreibung der derzeitigen Trends unter Einsatz der aktuell verfügbaren Technologien und der sich bereits in der Implementierung befindlichen Maßnahmen. Die Analyse globaler, europäischer und nationaler Studien bildet die Grundlage für die Bewertung der in den einzelnen industriellen Subsektoren verwendeten Technologien.

Die Entwicklung des Mitigation-Szenarios (MGS) erfolgt anhand der #mission2030 der österreichischen Klima- und Energiestrategie sowie der geltenden EU-Ziele. Die dabei auftretenden Trends werden bis 2050 betrachtet. „Best Available Technologies“ (BAT) sowie „Breakthrough-Technologies“ (BTT) mit kurz- bis mittelfristigem Umsetzungshorizont werden im Rahmen dieses Szenarios als Grundlage für die Modellierung herangezogen

Im Rahmen des DeepDecarbonization-Szenarios (DCS) wird eine Backcasting-Methode ausgehend vom Jahr 2050 durchgeführt. Dabei wird ermittelt, welche Technologien und Trends Einsatz finden müssen, um die NEFI-Ziele zu erreichen. Dabei kommen hier vor allem Breakthrough-Technologien mit signifikanten Reduktionspotentialen hinsichtlich CO2-Emissionen und Energiebedarfe in Frage.

Interessiert an den NEFI Industry Dialogue Sessions?

Bauen auch Sie Ihr Unternehmen aktiv in den Dialog zur Umsetzung der Klimaziele ein und kontaktieren Sie uns!

Kontakt

Not readable? Change text. captcha txt