Banner NEFI Konferenz

NEW ENERGY FOR INDUSTRY 2021 – CONFERENCE OF THE INNOVATION NETWORK

About the conference

The path towards a climate-neutral future

The order of the day in Europe is climate neutrality by 2050, and Austria wants to outperform this target by ten years achieving it by 2040. To meet this target, it takes more than lip service. It requires new processes, new efficiencies and innovations – this became clear at the first scientific conference of the NEFI Innovation Network which took place online on May 6 and 7. Around 50 speakers from research, business and politics discussed challenges and solutions. More than 400 participants from 14 countries followed the presentations and discussions online. All presentations are now available at the NEFI Youtube Channel.

The minister speaks out

„The decarbonization of industry is a key to achieving climate neutrality by 2040,” emphasized Climate Protection Minister Eleonore Gewessler in her speech at the conference. In order to achieve this ambitious goal, the minister said, more effort is needed in research and development. „This is important, because we do not yet have all the necessary technologies for a climate-friendly industry. NEFI, as one of these research networks, provides important solutions for decarbonization of domestic, but also international industry“, says Gewessler. DI Theresia Vogel, Managing Director of the Austrian Climate and Energy Fund sees a strong willingness on the part of the federal government and the states of Upper Austria and Styria to invest in the energy future. “The impulses resulting from this are also positively received by the economy and contribute to the success of NEFI“, Vogel confirms.

Efficient use of energy

To achieve climate neutrality by 2040, there are many levers to pull. Industry needs a wide variety of technologies, ranging from heat pumps to energy storage systems. There is the increased use of renewable gases such as hydrogen and the electrification of production facilities. An increasingly important issue is also the use and storage of CO2 generated by industrial processes. Waste heat must be utilized just the same in the plant or through cooperation with municipalities – keyword: district heating. Intensive cooperation and communication between research, industry and the federal states is important, as this can be seen in the showcase project NEFI. But the challenge is not limited to research and industry. The legal framework must also be further developed to meet the new requirements. In the six core conference sessions on the technological and systemic fields of innovation and in the policy talks, solutions and framework conditions were discussed. A special highlight was the session on industrial process optimization, which was attended by 145 participants.

Speed and cooperation needed

Time for achieving climate neutrality is pressing, thus research and implementation must take place in parallel. In the future, new technological developments and the necessary lean and efficient framework conditions will be needed. Climate protection and industry can also be a successful economic duo: This is demonstrated by the NEFI Industrial Board. This platform fosters a direct exchange between representatives of the Austrian industry and NEFI to promote the topics of decarbonization and transformation of the industrial energy system. This was the motto of the high-profile presentations, which can be accessed in the stream via link. We would like to thank all our speakers, participants and moderators of the NEFI Conference 2021 and the whole organisation team.

NEFI – New Energy for Industry is grouped around a consortium including the AIT Austrian Institute of Technology, Montanuniversität Leoben, OÖ Energiesparverband and Business Upper Austria, the business agency of the Upper Austrian Government. It was created to drive forward the industrial energy transition. NEFI is an energy model region funded by the Austrian Climate and Energy Fund and supported by the Federal States of Upper Austria and Styria.

If you have any questions, please feel free to contact the conference team at conference@nefi.at.

Innovation Fields

NEFI-New Energy for Industry Key Innovation Fields

In the framework of NEFI key technologies for decarbonizing the industrial energy system are addressed in three technological and three systemic innovation-fields. This categorization reflects the importance of a well-balanced industrial innovation environment and is not to be considered as a strict distinction between technological and systemic development.

Technological innovation fields

(1)     Energy Efficiency & New Processes

The key focus of this innovation field is achieving low carbon industrial processes, to be achieved by reducing CO2 emissions through more efficient energy use and through the introduction of novel technologies and processes. Disruptive process technologies or alternative process routes are covered. Examples: Utilization of industrial waste heat; introduction of new heat exchanger concepts, development of innovative burners.

(2) Renewable Energy & Storage & Demand Side Management

The extension of renewable energy sources for the industrial energy mix means new challenges for the energy infrastructure due to volatile generation. This field of innovation examines energy storage systems, innovative conversion technologies and demand-side management (DSM) tools from this perspective.

(3)     Industry and Grid

This field of innovation is dedicated to the development of system-solutions using industrial waste-energy streams (in form of power, industrial gases, process-heat, etc.) to cover energy demands in the surrounding environment of the NEFI flagship region. Such industry to grid energy networks do not reduce the industrial production’s end-energy demand but they do reduce the primary energy demand of the overall energy system.

Systematic innovation fields

(4) Legislation, Innovation & Research Policy

To achieve a successful industry transformation towards decarbonization, NEFI innovation processes and innovation ecosystems need to be aligned with appropriate political, institutional and legislative framework conditions. The innovation lab NEFI_Lab supports this process with specific know-how and runs an innovation platform where different legislative and other research policy aspects can be discussed. NEFI_Lab enables the knowledge transfer and exchange between different industrial sectors, end-users, politicians, regulatory authorities and the public. Additionally, Living Labs as new RTI (research, technology and innovation) policy instrument have been introduced as integral part of this innovation field.

(5) Systematic Solutions & Infrastructure

Establishing the necessary systematic solutions and infrastructure for the regional and transregional exchange of energy streams between industrial users, grid operators and (renewable) energy producers is the key element of this innovation field.

(6) New Business Models

NEFI supports projects, spin-off companies and start-ups in their attempt to find and test novel business models and solutions.

Kontakt

Not readable? Change text. captcha txt

Banner NEFI Konferenz

KONFERENZ DES INNOVATIONSVERBUNDES
NEW ENERGY FOR INDUSTRY 2021

Über die Konferenz

Der Weg in eine klimaneutrale Zukunft

Das Gebot der Stunde in Europa lautet: Klimaneutralität bis 2050. Österreich möchte hier noch einmal zehn Jahre vorangehen und bis 2040 Klimaneutralität erreichen. Um diese Ziele zu erfüllen, sind Lippenbekenntnisse zu wenig. Es geht um neue Prozesse, neue Effizienz und Innovationen – das wurde bei der ersten wissenschaftlichen Konferenz des NEFI Innovationsverbundes klar, die am 6. und 7. Mai online stattfand. Rund 50 Vortragende aus Forschung, Wirtschaft und Politik diskutierten über Herausforderungen und Lösungen. Mehr als 400 Teilnehmer*innen aus 14 Ländern verfolgten die Präsentationen und Diskussionen online. Alle Vorträge können nun im NEFI Youtube Kanal abgerufen werden.

Die Ministerin am Wort

„Die Dekarbonisierung der Industrie ist ein Schlüssel auf dem Weg zur Klimaneutralität bis 2040“, betont Klimaschutzministerin Leonore Gewessler in ihrer Rede bei der Konferenz. Um das ambitionierte Ziel zu erreichen, bedarf es – so die Ministerin – noch einer verstärkten Kraftanstrengung bei Forschung und Entwicklung. „Das ist wichtig, weil wir noch nicht alle notwendigen Technologien für eine klimafitte Industrie haben. NEFI, als eines dieser Forschungsnetzwerke, liefert wichtige Lösungen zur Dekarbonisierung der heimischen, aber auch internationalen Industrie“, sagt Gewessler. DI Theresia Vogel, Geschäftsführerin des Klima- und Energie¬fonds sieht eine starke Bereitschaft des Bundes und der Länder Oberösterreich und Steiermark, in die Energiezukunft zu investieren. „Die davon ausgehenden Impulse werden auch von der Wirtschaft positiv aufgenommen und tragen zum Erfolg von NEFI bei“, freut sich Vogel.

Energie effizient nutzen

Um die Klimaneuralität 2040 zu erreichen, braucht es viele Hebel. Die Industrie braucht verschiedenste Technologien, von Wärmepumpen bis Energiespeichern. Dazu kommt die verstärkte Nutzung von erneuerbaren Gasen wie Wasserstoff und der Elektrifizierung von Produktionsanlagen. Ein immer wichtigeres Thema ist auch die Nutzung und Speicherung von CO2, das bei industriellen Prozessen entsteht. Auch Abwärme muss im Betrieb oder durch Zusammenarbeit mit Kommunen – Stichwort: Fernwärme – verwertet werden. Wichtig ist die intensive Zusammenarbeit und Kommunikation zwischen der Forschung, der Industrie und den Bundesländern, wie es im Vorzeigeprojekt NEFI umgesetzt wird. Aber nicht nur Forschung und Industrie sind gefordert. Auch die gesetzlichen Rahmenbedingungen müssen für die neuen Anforderungen weiterentwickelt werden. In den sechs inhaltlichen Konferenz Sessions zu den technologischen und systemischen Innovationsfeldern und den Policy Talks wurde über Lösungen und Rahmenbedingungen gesprochen. Ein besonderes Highlight war die Session Industrielle Prozessoptimierung, welche von 145 Teilnehmer*innen besucht wurde.

Tempo und Kooperation gefragt

Wegen des knapp bemessenen Zeitplans bis zur Erreichung der Klimaneutralität müssen Forschung und Implementierung parallel stattfinden. Es brauche in Zukunft neue technologische Entwicklungen und die dafür notwendigen schlanken und effizienten Rahmenbedingungen. Klimaschutz und Industrie kann auch wirtschaftlich ein Erfolgsduo sein: Das beweist das NEFI Industrial Board. Die Plattform schafft einen direkten Austausch zwischen Vertreter*innen der österreichischen Industrie und NEFI, um die Themen Dekarbonisierung und Transformation des industriellen Energiesystems voranzutreiben. Unter diesem Motto standen die hochkarätigen Vorträge, die im Stream via Link abgerufen werden können.
Wir bedanken und herzlich bei allen Speakern, Teilnehmer*innen und Moderator*innen der NEFI Konferenz 2021 und beim gesamten Organisationsteam!

NEFI – New Energy for Industry hat sich um ein Konsortium aus AIT Austrian Institute of Technology, Montanuniversität Leoben, OÖ Energiesparverband und OÖ Standortagentur Business Upper Austria formiert und treibt die industrielle Energiewende voran. NEFI ist eine Energiemodellregion, die vom Klima- und Energiefonds gefördert wird und von den Bundesländern Oberösterreich und Steiermark unterstützt wird.

Bei Fragen steht Ihnen das Konferenzteam gerne unter conference@nefi.at zur Verfügung.

Innovationsfelder

Zentrale Innovationsfelder von NEFI – New Energy for Industry

Im Rahmen von NEFI werden die Schlüsseltechnologien zur Dekarbonisierung des industriellen Energiesystems drei technologischen und drei systemischen Innovationsfeldern zugeteilt. Diese Kategorisierung spiegelt die Bedeutung eines ausgewogenen industriellen Innovationsumfeldes wider und soll keine strikte Unterscheidung zwischen technologischer und systemischer Entwicklung darstellen.

Technologische Innovationsfelder

(1) Energieeffizienz & neue Prozesse

Im Mittelpunkt dieses Innovationsfeldes steht die Dekarbonisierung von industriellen Prozessen, die dadurch erreicht werden soll, dass der CO2-Ausstoß durch eine effizientere Energienutzung sowie durch die Einführung neuartiger Technologien und Prozesse verringert wird. Es werden insbesondere disruptive Prozesstechnologien oder alternative Prozessrouten abgedeckt. Mögliche Anwendungen sind die Nutzung industrieller Abwärme, die Einführung neuer Wärmetauscherkonzepte und Entwicklung innovativer Brenner.

(2) Erneuerbare Energie & Speicherung & Demand Side Management

Der Ausbau der erneuerbaren Energiequellen für den industriellen Energiemix bedeutet aufgrund der volatilen Erzeugung neue Herausforderungen für die Energieinfrastruktur. Dieses Innovationsfeld untersucht unter diesem Aspekt Energiespeichersysteme, innovative Umwandlungstechnologien und Demand-Side Management (DSM) Werkzeuge.

(3) Industrie und Netz

Dieses Innovationsfeld widmet sich der Entwicklung von Systemlösungen zur Nutzung industrieller Energieströme in Form von Strom, Industriegasen oder Prozesswärme zur Deckung des Energiebedarfs im Umfeld der NEFI-Vorzeigeregion. Derartige Industrie-zu-Netz-Energienetzwerke reduzieren nicht den Endenergiebedarf der industriellen Produktion, sondern den Primärenergiebedarf des gesamten Energiesystems.

Systemische Innovationsfelder

(4) Gesetzgebung, Innovation & Forschungspolitik

Die erfolgreiche Transformation zu einer emissionsfreien Industrie benötigt nicht nur technologische Lösungen, sondern auch die entsprechenden politischen, institutionellen und gesetzlichen Rahmenbedingungen. Das Innovationslabor NEFI_Lab unterstützt diesen Prozess mit spezifischem Know-how und bildet eine Plattform um verschiedene gesetzgebende und andere forschungspolitische Aspekte diskutieren zu können. NEFI_Lab ermöglicht den Wissenstransfer und Austausch zwischen verschiedenen Industriesektoren, Endanwender*innen, Politiker*innen, Regulierungsbehörden und der breiten Öffentlichkeit. Zusätzlich wurden Living Labs als neues FTI (Forschung, Technologie und Innovation) -Politikinstrument als integraler Bestandteil dieses Innovationsfeldes eingeführt.

(5) Systemische Lösungen & Infrastruktur

Das zentrale Element dieses Innovationsfeldes ist der Aufbau der notwendigen systematischen Lösungen und Infrastruktur für den regionalen und überregionalen Austausch von Energieströmen zwischen industriellen Nutzern, Netzbetreibern und (erneuerbaren) Energieerzeugern.

(6) Neue Geschäftsmodelle

NEFI unterstützt Projekte, Ausgründungen und Start-ups bei dem Versuch, neuartige Geschäftsmodelle und Lösungen zu finden und zu testen.

Kontakt

Not readable? Change text. captcha txt