SBM_IND – SMART BUSINESS MODELS FOR INDUSTRY

Visualisierung mit Icons vom smb-ind Projekt
Foto © Montanuniversität Leoben/EVT

Smart Business Models for Industry is concerned with the development of business models that are designed to help industrial companies on the one hand and energy suppliers on the other to market their power generation plants flexibly and in line with demand. Particular attention is paid to “grid serviceability” in order to avoid expensive investments in the energy networks by avoiding grid overloads.

Goals

  • Implementation of digital technologies and services to improve grid stability through intelligent control of industrial electrical loads and storage.
  • Design and demonstration of innovative business process architectures particularly suitable for small local distribution system operators and their industrial customers.
  • Development of a pre-alpha software which, by means of an automated IT algorithm, allows industrial flexibility options to be used according to requirements.

“The network efficient use of flexibly deployable consumers will gain in importance in the future in order to react to the increased use of volatile renewables. The industry can play a central role if economically viable business models are created for them. That’s what we are working on in the Smart Business Models for Industry project.”

Thomas Kienberger,

Project Manager SBM_IND,

Head of Chair of Energy Network Technology, Montanuniversität Leoben

Regional energy supply companies play a key role in the sustainable and environmentally friendly design of energy supply, as their distribution networks contain significant potential for renewable energy. Due to changes in the legal framework, regional energy suppliers face a variety of challenges. One way of meeting these challenges is to develop new innovative business models and products.

Approach and results of Smart Business Models for Industry

In the first part of the project, load flow calculations were carried out using network models of all grid-bound energy sources (electricity, gas and heat) and the flexibility options of the industrial partners such as energy storage, DSM potentials or flexible operation of industrial power plants were included in the analysis. The objective was to ensure that the business models developed are within a feasible technical framework. In the next step, a comprehensive overview of current business models and business process architectures of the participating municipal utilities and industrial partners was compiled and compared with results of other best practice examples. Based on these results, a catalogue of requirements was drawn up, which forms the basis for the development of business models.

Interdisciplinary approach to new business models

As a starting point, the corresponding business process architectures with associated databases were integrated to enable an automated IT algorithm and to act on network data in real time. Furthermore, the pre-alpha software developed in the project was to act in a network-oriented manner and use all relevant input parameters of the grid, the database of the energy supplier as well as the necessary parameters of the industrial partner regarding the use of its flexibility potential to apply industrial flexibility options in line with demand. For the development of the business models, an interdisciplinary approach was necessary to consider the large number of topics and actors as a whole:

SMBI in the NEFI-innovation fields

SBMI contributes to the NEFI-innovation fields New business models and renewable energy, storage and DSM. On the other hand, it addresses the research areas Industry to Grid and System Solutions & Infrastructure.

Project manager

Contact

Key Facts

Running time: 09/18 – 08/20
Project volume: € 452.784

 

Project partners

Montanuniversität Leoben

EVT Lehrstuhl für Energieverbundtechnik

Stadtwerke Kapfenberg

VKÖ

Avantsmart

K-Quadrat

TÜV Süd

Venios

Adenso

Kontakt

Not readable? Change text. captcha txt
Industrieofen

SBM_IND – SMART BUSINESS MODELS FOR INDUSTRY

Visualisierung mit Icons vom smb-ind Projekt
Foto © Montanuniversität Leoben/EVT

Smart Business Models for Industry beschäftigt sich mit der Entwicklung von Geschäftsmodellen, die einerseits Industrieunternehmen und andererseits Energieversorgern dabei helfen sollen, ihre Energieerzeugungsanlagen flexibel und bedarfsgerecht zu vermarkten. Dabei wird insbesondere auf „Netzdienlichkeit“ geachtet, um durch die Vermeidung von Netzüberlastungen teure Investitionen in den Energienetzen zu vermeiden.

Ziele

  • Implementierung digitaler Technologien und Dienste zur Verbesserung der Netzstabilität durch intelligente Steuerung industrieller elektrischer Lasten und Speicher.
  • Entwurf und Demonstration innovativer Geschäftsprozessarchitekturen, die besonders für kleine lokale Verteilnetzbetreiber und deren Industriekunden geeignet ist.
  • Entwicklung einer Pre-Alpha Software, die es mittels automatisiertem IT-Algorithmus erlaubt, industrielle Flexibilitätoptionen bedarfsgerecht einzusetzen.

“Der netzdienliche Einsatz von flexibel einsetzbaren Verbrauchern wird zukünftig an Bedeutung gewinnen, um auf den verstärkten Einsatz von volatilen Erneuerbaren zu reagieren. Die Industrie kann dabei eine Schüsselrolle spielen sofern wirtschaftlich tragfähige Geschäftsmodelle für sie geschaffen werden. Daran arbeiten wir im Projekt Smart Business Models for Industry.”

 

Thomas Kienberger,

Projektleiter SBM_IND,
Lehrstuhl für Energieverbundtechnik,
Montanuniversität Leoben

Regionale Energieversorgungsunternehmen spielen eine Schlüsselrolle bei der nachhaltigen und umweltfreundlichen Gestaltung der Energieversorgung, da sich in deren Verteilnetzen signifikante Potentiale an erneuerbaren Energien befinden. Durch Veränderung der gesetzlichen Rahmenbedingungen stehen regionaln Energieversorger einer Vielzahl von Herausforderungen gegenüber. Eine Möglichkeit diesen Herausforderungen zu begegnen sind neue innovative Geschäftsmodelle und Produkte.

Vorgangsweise und Ergebnisse von Smart Business Models for Industry

Im ersten Teil des Projekts wurden mithilfe  von Netzmodellen aller leitungsgebundenen Energieträger (Strom, Gas und Wärme)  Lastflussberechnungen durchgeführt und die Flexibilitätsoptionen der Industriepartner wie Energiespeicherung, DSM-Potentiale oder flexibler Betrieb von Industriekraftwerken in die Betrachtung miteinbezogen.

Ziel dieser technischen Analyse war es, sicherzustellen, dass die entwickelten Geschäftsmodelle innerhalb eines realisierbaren technischen Rahmens liegen. Im nächsten Schritt wurde ein umfassender Überblick über aktuelle Geschäftsmodelle und Geschäftsprozessarchitekturen der beteiligten Stadtwerke und Industriepartner erstellt und mit Ergebnissen anderer Best-Practice-Beispiele verglichen. Basierend auf diesen Ergebnissen erfolgte die Erstellung eines Anforderungskatalogs, der die Grundlage für die Entwicklung von Geschäftsmodellen bildet.

Interdisziplinärer Ansatz für neue Geschäftsmodelle

Als Ausgangspunkt wurden die  entsprechenden Geschäftsprozessarchitekturen mit zugehörigen Datenbanken eingebunden, um einen automatisierten IT-Algorithmus zu ermöglichen und um in Echtzeit auf Netzdaten zu agieren. Weiters sollte die  im Projekt entwickelte Pre-Alpha-Software  netzdienlich handeln und alle relevanten Eingangsparameter des Netzes, die Datenbank des Energieversorgers sowie die notwendigen Parameter des Industriepartners hinsichtlich der Nutzung seines Flexibilitätspotentials verwenden, um industrielle Flexibilitätsoptionen bedarfsgerecht einzusetzen. Für die Entwicklung der Geschäftsmodelle war ein interdisziplinärer Ansatz nötig, um die Vielzahl von Themen und Akteur*innen gesamt zu betrachten:

SMBI in den NEFI-Innovationsfeldern

SBMI trägt zu den NEFI-Innovationsfeldern Neue Geschäftsmodelle und Erneuerbare Energie, Speicherung & DSM bei. Zum anderen adressiert es die Forschungsbereiche Industry to Grid und System Solutions & Infrastructure.

Projektleiter

Thomas Kienberger
Montanuniversität Leoben
thomas.kienberger@unileoben.ac.at

Ansprechperson

Matthias Greiml
matthias.greiml@unileoben.ac.at
Montanuniversität Leoben

Eckdaten

Laufzeit: 09/18 – 08/20
Projektvolumen: € 452.784

 

Projektpartner

Montanuniversität Leoben

EVT Lehrstuhl für Energieverbundtechnik

Stadtwerke Kapfenberg

VKÖ

Avantsmart

K-Quadrat

TÜV Süd

Venios

Adenso

Kontakt

Not readable? Change text. captcha txt
Icons mit StadtblickIcons mit Labor im Hintergrund